Tags

, ,

The tokidoki Bellina Blush in Skate Girl is a color exclusive to Sephora. I got this blusher a few months ago, thanks to Carrie who got me my fix from the US. I was meant to review it, but that will be a story for another day.

Aren’t the characters so cute? *inner child*

Don’t be fooled by the cutesy packaging, the Skate Girl packs quite a surprising punch and is definitely not a marketing gimmick.

Here’s a close-up of the ingredients list. The Skate Girl is certainly packin’, with 11.61g of product, it’ll last you ages.

I like that it’s in a clear compact square case, very neat and easy to keep away.

Product Description:

This micronized powder blush applies smoothly and blends evenly for a glowing radiance that lasts throughout the day. The Bellina Blush can become a fun new accessory through different application techniques: use one shade to contour; the other to highlight, blend, and create a third shade.

This blush contains Japanese rice lipids to help hydrate the skin and provide a smooth, blendable texture. Formulated without parabens.

I took a few more pan swatches than usual to show the visible gold glitter flecks in Skate Girl. And I know what’s the next question that’s on everyone’s mind: Is Skate Girl a dupe for the NARS Orgasm?

Close-up.

Swatches.

The left shade is a light pink, whereas the right is a soft-but-darker pink. My swatches are heavily swiped, hence the intensity will differ.

Comparison to the NARS Orgasm.

The gold sheen of Orgasm is more yellow and visible in pan as compared to Skate Girl.

I’ve not touched my Orgasm blush ever since I swatched it previously. Sacrilege!

Skate Girl on left, Orgasm on Right.

You can see that the gold sheen of Orgasm is definitely more in-your-face than Skate Girl, and is peachier on my arm. Skate Girl looks rose-pink when swatched against Orgasm.

Review:

Texture: Buttery smooth. It’s a term more commonly used for eyeshadows, but Skate Girl is smooth like silk.

Pigmentation: On par with any of my best blushers, great pigmentation. The shade on the left took a few more swipes to show up, but that’s probably because its a lighter color. I had a solid opaque color showing up with my first swipe for the right shade. You definitely don’t need that much for the blush to show up on your cheeks.

Application: Picks up well when swatched with fingers and also with a regular blush brush. I would advise to just tap gently once on the blush pan and tap off excess powder before putting it on your cheeks, it’s THAT pigmented. I did that twice very very gently on my NC15 cheeks.

Lasting Power: It wore and faded very well throughout the day.

Value for Money: The tokidoki Bellina Blush in Skate Girl retails on Sephora for USD22, which is a steal and a song. With the annual 20% Friends & Family sale coming right up and the weakening US dollar, this pretty baby can be yours for less. Also, at 11.61g, Skate Girl will last you forever.

Final Thoughts:

If you are have a weakness for blushers, pick up the tokidoki Skate Girl already! I like that it has two colors and the lighter shade can be used on top of your cheekbones as a subtle highlighter. You can experiment with the shades and layer them on each other to make the colors pop. For USD22, this is a really lovely blusher to have, as the colors will flatter many skintones. Easy to tote around with a ton of product, what’s there not to love?

I’ll be getting the rest of the face products in the tokidoki line myself, the Inferno Bronzer in Royal Pride and the Luminosa Powder in Kabuki are on my F&F list. Don’t you just love makeup that perks up your morning routine with such cheer?

