Tags

,

I noticed that my lids are getting rather dark lately, though I dont use dark eyeshadows of any sort, but the veins have been showing up regardless. Which reminded me that I have a pot of the MAC Prep + Prime Eye in Light sitting forlornly in my MUJI chest and what better excuse to conduct an ‘open ceremony’ of it.

It retails for USD16.50 on the MAC website and comes in three shades. Mine is in Light and a perfect blend for my eyelid.

I love how the box came in a starry blue base, unlike the usual black packaging that MAC products come in.

You get 5g of product and I have a feeling that I will go through mine very quickly.

I will update this post with a review (or maybe when it gets published it will already be the final form). Swatches of the products and a review of the Prep + Prime Eye is also up.

My current eye look: The MAC Prep + Prime Eye (as a corrector and a base), the UDPP on top (not pictured), the MAC Ricepaper shadow which is a perfect wash of an eyelid color for me and the Dolly Wink Pencil Eyeliner in Brown to round things up. Very subtle yet classy, effortless look that I really like.

Swatches of Ricepaper (Frost) and the Prep + Prime Eye:

As you can see, the MAC Prep + Prime Eye has an orange(?) tone to it that supposedly acts as a corrector. At least it does for me.

You can see the gorgeous ‘frost’ of Ricepaper here in flash. Very beautiful as a simple look with liner and mascara. It’s not a flat matte so it still gives my eyelids some ‘life’.

Review (MAC Prep + Prime):

As I’ve mentioned earlier, I’m so lovin’ it cos the ‘coverage’ is pretty damm good, and very easy to blend on dry eyelids as there is a lot of ‘slip’ to the product. It’s definitely not drying or cakey whatsoever. Before I continue, here’s what MAC has to say about their product:

A light textured cream to wear on the eyes as an undercoat to eye makeup. Primes the lids. Smooths textures, neutralizes lid colour. Use under eye shadow, pigments, paints and concealers

Indeed, the MAC Prep + Prime Eye did what it was supposed to do, for me. I loved that I can wear it alone and still look reasonably ‘fresh’, as I discovered that if I do my base makeup without doing anything to my eyes, they still look sunken, swollen and that is not good. It definitely performs as a ‘corrector’ for the lids, and to a certain extent, the under-eye areas as well.

However, there is quite a bit of ‘slip’ to the product, and I find that I have to be still and not blink for a few seconds to allow the primer to set and ‘dry’. It’s not watery, maybe a teeny-weeny drier than a fresh pot of the Urban Decay Primer Potion (UDPP). I would recommend for you to stay still and allow your lids to dry, else you will find that the product will muss.

Being lazy, I hate to have to think of color combinations and whatnot and prefer shadow applications that are easy to work with and idiot-proof. Hence the ‘one-swipe’ look. I love such looks as they look very classy (with a pair of studs) and I dont have to worry if I blended enough or looked like a clown. Having caught up on the Japanese magazines, it seems that a natural look is ‘in’ now and the models are not wearing much makeup at all, which is a plus and also a huge task to accomplish since your skin has to be pretty damm good.

