Tags

,

Morning everyone! How’s the long weekend? My girlfriends are travelling and I’m so looking forward to Hong Kong in three weeks! Anyhow, before I ramble off-track…

In case you got suckered in by the [SPECIAL EDITION] – it simply meant to say this post is a special one I’m doing for PROJECT: ABAD. I know that the NARS blushers in Super Orgasm / Orgasm are hotly contested and so why not do all the swatches at once for comparison and yak about them.

I resized the pictures and made them 1024 px, hopefully the quality is clearer on closeups and when you click them *winks*

And before I go into a long entry again, what is A-Blush-A-Day (ABAD) Project?

Project ABAD was started by Elaine, Jennifer and I. On each day, each of us will present a different blush we used each day (so that’s 3 x 30 = 90 blushes), with swatches done either on face or on hand, and a short review. For my list of 30 blushes to be used in this project, click here. Don’t forget to head to Elaine’s and Jennifer’s blogs for daily blush surprises!

And now, ze NARS blushers which are a must-have in any blush-fiend’s collection!

I really like the minimalist packaging, as much as I dig the cutesy, kawaii, sparkly Japanese designs. The NARS boxes are definitely more eco-friendly.

The only gripe I have with them is their blush casings. The compact feels powdery to the touch and rubbery to a certain extent. Do not get powder or any other thing on it, because the residue will stick and stain the case. I would know, because I just stained my Sex Appeal. -_-”

And also, fingerprint magnet. Each of my fingers now has their own imprint of the blush compacts now. Urgh.

Pan swatches.

Sex Appeal is a soft matte color that is just that bit of pink in the color to make it wearable. The rest of the four blushers have glitters in them.

You can really see the difference in color here when I zoom up on the pans. Apologies for the Sex Appeal picture, the DSLR wouldn’t focus and I had to enlarge what I had.

The colors from left – right (1st row / second row): Deep Throat / Sex Appeal / Super Orgasm / Orgasm

Before I go into arm swatches, here’s a comparison of Super Orgasm and Orgasm.

I can but only try to describe the blushers to the best of my noob ability and according to how it looks on me.

Super Orgasm: It looks like a light watermelon pink in pan with noticeable gold specks of glitter in it. Noticeable as in, you do not need to squint your eyes or hold it close to see the gold glitters. When swatched, the color is a peach-pink that is slightly peachier than Deep Throat.

Orgasm: It has more rose-pink tones than Super Orgasm, and the glitter appears as a gold sheen, but the swatches will show you that if you swatch too heavily with Orgasm and don’t blend it out, beware a glitter-bomb.

Good news is that Deep Throat looks like your best bet if you can’t decide the two, and no noticeable glitter. Also, the glitter can be swiped off easily, at least on my arm. As for the face I’ve seen people swipe with a powder brush, or tap off the glitters before you put it on your face.

The NARS Sex Appeal is such a beautiful soft matte peach that is super sheer and is definitely the most subtle blush I own in my collection. It swatched powdery though. The pink will come through and you get a soft peach color for your blush. Though I think Sex Appeal is such a weird name for a natural blush like this, perhaps I ought to rethink the connotations of sexiness.

_____________________________________________________________

Product Review:

Intensity: The NARS Deep Throat / Super Orgasm and Orgasm blushers apply really well, very pigmented. The Sex Appeal will not lose points for applying sheer, because that’s what it says it is, a soft subtle blush that gives you just a bare hint of color.

Finish: Super Orgasm has noticeable gold glitter specks in it, while Orgasm is less in-your-face but you can see the swatches, ze gold glitter are more closely-packed but smaller in size, giving the Orgasm a gold sheen instead.

Deep Throat is what you get if Super Orgasm and Orgasm had a baby, very nice finish and the least troublesome if you want a nice shimmer in your blush. Sex Appeal is totally matte.

Value for Money: It retails at USD27 and you get 4.8g of product. Any NARS blusher will last a really long time because you dont waste alot of powder with each application.

For application, I used my MAC116 with a single swipe across the pan, not even exerting strength, and tap (hard) off the excess. I do this two or three times to get the color I’m comfortable with. The glitters will come off in a tap.

Lasting Power: The NARS blushers wear very long on me. About 10 hours I would say? With some fading of course.

Possible Dupes: I don’t own exact dupes of each of them in my stash, perhaps the Tokidoki Skate Girl or the Marine Life. Ripe Peach resembles Deep Throat but without the shimmers.

Overall thoughts: To be honest I was looking forward to getting my paws on these blushers, particularly the Orgasm since it’s a ‘Cult Favourite’. However, I dislike the obvious glitter in the blush and having pores/scars, the glitter settles in and highlights parts that I want to keep hidden.

If your skin is flawless or relatively great, these might be a good try for you. I see no point in having to tap off the glitter, because that’s what the product comes in. The colors seem to be really ordinary to my eyes after the glitter is gone and I wear it for a couple of hours, but maybe that’s because I’ve been doing so many PROJECT: ABAD posts that it gets blurry after awhile.

I would recommend Deep Throat if you are looking at starting a foray into NARS blushers, the color is particularly wearable and fuss-free. Just remember that you have to go really light-handed if you are fair.

_____________________________________________________________

Elaine has very nice swatches of the NARS Super Orgasm and it looks different on her then it does on me, since I have pinkier tones in my cheeks. Check out her PROJECT: ABAD post on the blush here.

Don’t forget to check out Jennifer’s blog as well; she did a fabulous one on a Dior blusher that roused the blush fiend in me! Thank you everyone for the comments and support by looking at the project. We are near the end of two weeks and wow, it has not been easy on the three of us really. I hope the entries help somebody out and yes, I will be adding face swatches when I do a recap on the posts, as soon as I get out of my skin woes.

Have a great Saturday everyone, long weekend FTW! xx

