Tags

Hi everyone, I know it will technically be in time for DAY 11 of Project: ABAD by the time you read this, but give me a few days to get on top of things alright? I’ve already decided what to feature for this week and shot nearly half of them, face swatches to come since the skin is currently in breakout mode.

So today, or tonight, I’ll be bringing you the Rimmel 3 in 1 Powder Blush in 001 Spring Flower! I believe this is the second time I’ve played with it since purchasing it during the Watsons Member Sale in November last year. I’ll tell you why in a bit.

And before I begin, what is A-Blush-A-Day (ABAD) Project?

Project ABAD was started by Elaine, Jennifer and I. On each day, each of us will present a different blush we used each day (so that’s 3 x 30 = 90 blushes), with swatches done either on face or on hand, and a short review. For my list of 30 blushes to be used in this project, click here. Don’t forget to head to Elaine’s and Jennifer’s blogs for daily blush surprises!

The etching of the crown emblem is pretty deep. No telling if it will fade away though.

Again, the brush that it comes with is totally crap. Too loose to pick up any powder.

Arm swatches.

You can see how shimmery, or rather, glittery the pink blush color is. Swatches are in accordance to the blush stripes in pan, the extreme right is a mix of all three colors.

The glitter in the pink is really quite noticeable. Not sure if you would want to look like a glitter bomb with chunky bits on your face. It seems that the amount of glitter decreases with each color as you go towards the right of the pan.

Product Review:

Intensity: Pigmented, even for individual shades. You would want to go lightly with this.

Finish: Definitely shimmery. The pink on the left has noticeable glitters (its too loud for a shimmer), and when you mix the three, it is toned down to a more shimmery feel.

Value for Money: I can’t remember how much I paid for this, probably around S$20? You get 4.5g of product with this. However you would want to rethink this option as you can’t really wear the individual shades as they are. The pink would show up as a discoball, while the coral will pull too red. Your best bet is to swirl them altogether. And I justify my purchases if the colors are functional enough to wear alone.

But for the crown emblem? Definitely.

Lasting Power: With so much shimmer, under 3 hours.

Possible Dupes: It doesn’t scream out a dupe to me, more like just one of those colors you get by mixing and matching, ordinarily enough. You just have to pack on the glitters if you want the effect of this Rimmel’s blusher, though I’m not sure why anyone would. The coral would match Marine Life, though it would be less red and more shimmery.

Overall thoughts: You can do so much better than this, especially if you are looking at having some fun with your blushers by mixing them for a blended color. The glitter from this will kill your pores and yeah, not a good look. Jill Stuart does some great (and famous) ones with their Mixed Blush Compacts, while I’m hearing good things about the Fox in a Box by Hard Candy. All in all, not a fan.

I’m getting so much better at shortening my reviews yes? Hahaha. Hope this entry helps someone to decide, but heck it’s the only blush I own with a crown emblem, so if you like crowns, geddit and don’t swipe too hard over the pink glitter.

Before I end this off (and start on my second entry), be sure to check out my fellow blush fiends and their adventures in our challenge! xx

