Hi everyone! I was supposed to publish this entry last night, but I couldn’t resist the temptation and fell asleep at like what, 9pm? *shame-faced* Exams preparations + late night voyages got the best of me I reckon. No fear, I shall bring you something to sweeten up your Sunday!

But first, let’s do the customary recap.

What is A-Blush-A-Day (ABAD) Project?

Project ABAD was started by Elaine, Jennifer and I. On each day, each of us will present a different blush we used each day (so that’s 3 x 30 = 90 blushes), with swatches done either on face or on hand, and a short review. For my list of 30 blushes to be used in this project, click here. Don’t forget to head to Elaine’s and Jennifer’s blogs for daily blush surprises!

So today, I’m gonna bring you the Physician’s Formula Happy Booster Blush in Rose!

  • Infused with our Happy Boost Blend, featuring Happy Skin and Euphoryl, natural plant extracts which have been shown to promote a feeling of happiness by mimicking the effect of Endorphins and helping protect the skin from environmental stress.
  • The sweet scent of Violet provides a feeling of joy each time you apply.

It’s made up of hearts in rose, light pink and strangely, nude-brown hearts.

How cute is that? A solid heart on the clear plastic cover!

Pan shots.

I was trying to think up of a color of the brown hearts, muddy brown came to mind. Seems that Physician’s Formula is trying to tone down the rose color, let’s see if they succeed.

The Physician’s Formula Happy Booster Blush is a bulky thing, as it contains a small mirror + brush when you flip the blush pan over.

The mirror isn’t terribly big but handy enough for you to do a blush touchup. You can fit your cheek into the reflection 😄

The accompany brush looks cute and all, but is as scratchy and useless as most compact brushes are. I was tempted to say ‘drugstore’ brushes, but I realize I dont use the brushes that my other compact brushes come in. They generally do not pick up color well, i.e. the bristles are too ‘loose’.

The reason why I included so many pictures is because I’m trying to show how multi-colored this Physician’s Formula Happy Booster Blush in Rose is. Whew, that’s a really long name for me to type. I dont like to be rambling on and on about something and nobody gets what the heck am I referring to :/

Now arm swatches.

I swirled (to the best of my ability) all the hearts in the blush at least twice for this color to show up. It is really a rose *deadpan*.

Before you bash me and ask ‘why no face shot?’, the DSLR wasn’t picking up color again. And I honestly didn’t like the blush enough to want to try harder to show you what it looks like on skin, since it really is what Physician’s Formula says it is – ROSE.

Product Review:

Intensity: Medium. I guess anything with shimmers will tend to go on the sheer side. Definitely buildable and the rose color will intensify as you build it up. The blush pan is so small, there’s no way you can swipe an individual color.

Finish: The DSLR shots will prove that the Physician’s Formula Happy Booster blush in Rose (why am I typing such a long name??) has slight shimmers. In fact every heart in the blush has shimmers in them.

Value for Money: The Physician Formula Happy Booster blushers retail at USD11.95 and the cheapest one I can find in Singapore is selling at S$25. However I wouldn’t recommend this blush, because of how ordinary the color is. Unless you get a kick of blushers having a scent to them, this blush definitely smells good. It lasts at least two hours when you first put it on, so I’m guessing the ‘happy’ effect comes from the fact that you can smell your blush.

Whether you find paying for a rose blusher that smells of violets (why aren’t they rose-scented huh?) is worth the S$25, I’ll leave it up to you to decide. Also, note that the violet smell of the blusher is quite strong, but it definitely fades. The one I own doesn’t smell so strongly now. I used to be able to catch a recognizable sniff of it whenever I go near my makeup stash. And you don’t have to open your blush cover to smell it.

In short: S$25 for rose blush that has violet smell but said smell will fade and sooner or later and this become ordinary blush with no smell, worth it? Naw.

Lasting Power: They lasted alright, about 3 hours on the average. The smell will fade before that though.

Possible Dupes: It is such a common rose that I would say any rose blushers will be able to dupe the color. I personally find it a little strong on me. Note that the DSLR might make the blush pull a little pink/coral, but it is definitely a rose.

Overall thoughts: I find myself thinking that you can do so much better if you want a rose blush, Jill Stuart does some pretty nice ones, heck you can find such colors anywhere! Unless you have a friend visiting the US and can track it down at the drugstores for you, it’s really a hassle to get your hands on this blush.

Most importantly, you are paying for a blush that touts to have a ‘happy and mood boosting effect’, but said effect would fade away the longer you have the blush in your stash. It doesn’t sit well with me that I’m paying for something that will lose its specialty, especially when we don’t use up (or ever hit pan) on most blushers. This comes in 7g and I imagine I’ll have a lot left even after 5 years.

Alrightos, do check out Elaine’s post on a lovely nude-pink (that made me waver about not venturing into nude blushes) here, whereas Jenn does a great one on a really unique blush (that I don’t own yet) here.

