Tags

,

Hi everyone *waves* I apologize once again for the lack of posts on Day 4 and Day 5 of PROJECT: ABAD as I was busy with exams. WordPress then ate my entry on my Galaxy as I tried to update and post before we drove into Malaysia yesterday for some R&R (more of that later).  I deleted all my source pictures and face swatches and tada, I’m a sad sod this grey and gloomy morning, trying to force/cajole/bribe the DSLR into performing (which it didn’t sadly).

Without further ado, I’m so excited to bring to you the highly-raved and prized Candy Doll blushers that I was extremely lucky to hunt down! Please note that my pictures are not recycled in anyway, I took them (for the third time ;_;) this morning. The original haul entry I did can be found here and good luck to resisting the lemmings XD

But before I can begin, hello to new readers and you have no idea how happy you make me! As a recap ~

What is A-Blush-A-Day (ABAD) Project?

Project ABAD was started by Elaine, Jennifer and I. On each day, each of us will present a different blush we used each day (so that’s 3 x 30 = 90 blushes), with swatches done either on face or on hand, and a short review. For my list of 30 blushes to be used in this project, click here. Don’t forget to head to Elaine’s and Jennifer’s blogs for daily blush surprises!

I really like the brand name, how sweet can you get with Candy Doll?

These blushers are real tiny. The two can fit into the palm of my hand.

Left: Peach Pink

Right: Strawberry Pink

Don’t let the color scare you (it scared me XD), Strawberry Pink was so surprisingly. Tell you why in a bit.

But first, arm swatches!

These are accurate color swatches. No worries about that. It took me 5 or 6 swipes to hit that kind of intensity with my finger, so with a brush you definitely wouldn’t be able to OD on these babies!

When I tried out the Peach Pink, I was so in love. Both blushers have a tiny amount of shimmer, but really not noticeable unless you swipe really hard with your fingers. I loved Peach Pink when I tried it on yesterday (to head out to Malaysia), it’s such a soft, subtle brightening milk pink, definitely no peaches in that blush. Again, my DSLR pictures were wiped out and I have only this to show 😦

Sorry for this uber-lousy face swatch. I had to use my Galaxy front camera to do it as the DSLR refused to work at all, the grey weather excluded. I woke up with redness on my left cheek, hence the skin didn’t take to color ;_; I wore Peach Pink, everything else refused to work after I patted on Strawberry Pink.

However I might just be able to show you what Peach Pink and Strawberry Pink looks like together. The general idea I get from reading the Japanese magazines is to use Peach Pink as a base color, Strawberry Pink to accentuate color and Lavender Pink to highlight.

Product Review:

Intensity: Definitely sheer. Most Japanese blushers are sheer and shimmery, but these Candy Doll ones are not the usual run-of-the-mill sheer. Even for me (NC15), Peach Pink look alot of swipes to show up as a subtle base.

Finish: I would say that Peach Pink and Strawberry Pink both have shimmers, but not noticeable to the eyes really once you have the product on your face. Within an hour the shimmers disappeared. When swatched heavily, Strawberry Pink has more shimmers than Peach Pink. Which kinda makes sense, seeing that you are supposed to layer Strawberry Pink over Peach Pink.

Value for Money: The Candy Doll blushers can be bought in JPMON here while I personally paid S$24 each for them. How much product you get is not stated at the back of the blusher, so I can’t tell you how much bang you are getting for your buck. I think this ‘value’ totally depends on whether you have something similar or are you highly influenced by Gyaru makeup trends.

Lasting Power: They lasted quite well. I wore my blushers out at about 5PM and I could still see them on at 4AM. This is really odd because I guess how long a product lasts on you depends on your skin condition (oily, dry), the base makeup you are wearing (Shu Uemura UV Base in Pink) and your surroundings. I was surprised to see the blushers last longer than the Sleek ones, since Candy Doll’s so sheer. I half expected them to disappear by dinner.

Possible Dupes: I’m so tempted to call Peach Pink and Strawberry Pink mattes, but they are not. Just a tinge of shimmer, and that disappeared and became matte. Very flattering. I don’t own matte blushers so I would say no to the finish. Colors wise, Strawberry Pink resembles this hot pink shade I have in my Jill Stuart Mix Blush Compact 02 Rose Bloom, while I’ll have to physically sort through the blushers to tell you about Peach Pink.

Overall thoughts: I know some girls would probably balk at calling the Candy Doll Peach Pink and Strawberry Pink ‘unique’ or ‘must-have’, but I really enjoyed myself playing with the two colors and seeing how Strawberry Pink transformed the color of the blush. I like wearing Peach Pink alone, it’s just so subtle and brightens my face. I would advise getting both blushers as a set, since they are pretty much ordinary when you purchase them on their own.

Again its my personal opinion, but I’m really quite tired with seeing so many shimmery blushers (not that I’m sick of it but it’s repetitive) and the Candy Doll blushers have a special place in my stash and heart for being such workable soft shades. For ladies with NC30 and above, I don’t recommend Peach Pink at all as it will definitely show up too ashy on you. This makes me want to go on a (matte) blush buying spree XD

Alright ladies, thank you so much for sticking through this long entry with me, I hope the review on these Candy Doll favorites would have helped someone decide on their purchases. If you have it, please share with me your thoughts and how you wear them (swirled together, patted on, separately). Stay sweet!

Thanks for all your kind words and encouragement, keep an eye out for DAY 6 of PROJECT: ABAD out later! *waves*

EDIT:// Here’s what I’m talking about – how Peach Pink and Strawberry Pink looks at 11PM at night, 6 hours of wear and lots of perspiration (we were having crabs and bbq items).

I OD-ed on my left cheek, I know. And it was evident through the 6 hours, *cue embarrassed music* KWA KWA KWA KWA!

I use the Shu Umeura UV Base in Pink, Banila & Co (I cant remember the specific product) BB Cream, Canmake Pore Covering Powder and then the Candy Doll blushers. No concealer! The BB cream is awesome, but what’s even more awesome is the Shu Uemura base. Cannot live without.

