Hi everyone, I’m finally done with the first entry of PROJECT: A-Blush-A-Day (ABAD) and it was truly a dilemma trying to pick which blusher to feature first! I had favorites (some which I loved more than the others) and while I was so happy to have a few girls (<3) commenting on what they would like to see first, I couldn’t pick and choose which to feature first. And so I decided to fall back on one of my most under-rated blushers, the MAC Hipness from MAC’s In The Groove Collection!

Before I begin, let’s recap. What is A-Blush-A-Day (ABAD) Project?

Project ABAD was started by Elaine, Jennifer and I. On each day, each of us will present a different blush we used each day (so that’s 3 x 30 = 90 blushes), with swatches done either on face or on hand, and a short review. For my list of 30 blushes to be used in this project, click here. Don’t forget to head to Elaine’s and Jennifer’s blogs for daily blush surprises!

P.S. Thanks to my babes for taking the plunge and embarking on this challenge with me. I feel so motivated to be putting on makeup everyday now, haha. Kudos to Elaine for the banner and Jennifer for the sweet write-up, we are awerfrikkinsome!

So to kick things off, here’s the MAC Hipness 

To be honest, I never fancied the green packaging. *facepalm*

Product Swatches (on inner arm):

Compact Camera.

DSLR.

Product Review: 

Intensity: Sheer, but definitely buildable. However on my skin if I swiped it on a lot more (like I did with the swatch on the left), I will look like I have red rash.

Finish: MAC lists Hipness with a Frost finish, this did not apply frosty on me – i.e. I don’t see obvious shimmers. It applied smooth and the coral tones come out more with more swipes, as evident on my clown cheeks now lol. When I swipe it lightly on the apples of my cheeks, the pink is more evident.

Value for Money: The MAC Hipness retailed for USD18.50 and in Singapore, a normal MAC blusher retails for S$35. I’m not sure about the exact price for Hipness as it was Limited Edition and I got mine (for S$25) from Rochie who cut me a great deal and came barely-used. Packaging wise it’s really not my thing, but I would recommend Hipness for NC15-25 skintones. It’s such a nice flush of pink+coral that brightens up your complexion.

Lasting Power: For such a sheer blush, I didn’t expect it to last more than a couple of hours. Mine faded out within three hours of wear, I opted for a more natural dusting of pink as it really brightens up the skintone and too much will overwhelm me.

Possible Dupes: I would say the closest thing I have in my blushers picked out for PROJECT: ABAD is the MAC Marine Life. I don’t own such a bright pink coral in my stash, or so I think XD

Overall thoughts: I’m sorry to feature a Limited Edition blusher in my first post >_<” That said, if you are NC15-25 and you want a beautiful pink that brightens your complexion, I would recommend you to get your hands on Hipness! This blusher is my go-to when I’m in a hurry as it perks me up instantly when I dust it lightly on the apples of my cheeks.

Now if this isn’t enough for you, check out Elaine’s post (on a beautiful Jill Stuart blush)  here and Jennifer’s one (awesome staple to have for Benefit) here Major love for my fellow blush fiends in crime! xx

P.S. If you have the MAC Hipness, do share with me your thoughts on how it applies for you ^^

