I was having a very rough week in school prepping for the conference and having to deal with (or in my case, ignoring completely) the presence of two people who complement and deserve each other. Not that I bother anymore already, you two will get it comin’.

So moving on, I was at Tampines Mall after a long day in school and wandered around the cosmetic counters. First I went to Chanel and tried the rest of the Rouge Coco Shine lipsticks that I didn’t get to try the last time I visited the counter at Shaw. Nothing perked my interest, but after looking at swatches online, I might just double back to try a couple of more shades.

I then popped by the Dior counter as my beauty babes were raving about the Dior Addict Lipsticks which came in a mind-boggling number of shades. How does one manage to swatch them all anyways? My lips will dry out and refuse to pick up any color after a maximum of three tries. And skin swatches are crap since my lip color is naturally dark/pale pink, depending on the time of the day. So ladies, I really recommend you to do a lip swatch than a skin swatch because the colors don’t translate true. Your lip color is definitely not a NC20 like your hand is right?

There was only one SA at the Dior counter that Monday night, typical even for brands like Chanel and Dior in the heartland malls as not many people are looking to buy a S$44 lipstick or a S$94 foundation. I was lucky to meet Ann, a very lovely SA at the counter and she allowed me to try as many of the Dior Addict lipsticks as I wanted. However, I didn’t pick up any even though I tried the 313, which came highly recommended by the babes. Somehow the formula wasn’t as buttery as the Chanel Rouge Coco, or maybe it’s just my lips that refused to work.

Ann was extremely patient and nice throughout, unlike the SAs I see in Orchard where they will look down upon hastily-dressed students like myself and be reluctant to serve. I bet my request to try the lipsticks would be met with a frown as the SAs will think I’m being a cheapo and probably not buy. Sad but true experience. Ann handed me lipstick after lipstick, suggesting shades that would work for my skin. And she tried on the Dior Capture Totale foundation on my face (a frikkin’ full-face complete with loose powder and blusher, not the usual half) after I wondered aloud of my shade. I felt so guilty at leaving empty-handed that I bought the DIORSKIN Nude concealer afterwards >_<” See how treacherous shopping alone is? I wanted to try out the Dior Addict lipsticks but ended up with the concealer instead.

And I so did not regret my purchase at all. The DIORSKIN Nude concealer now knocks the Amazing Cosmetics concealer off my #1 spot as it is so much easier to work with! I do not have to worry about squeezing out too much product and having to spend a long time blending the concealer out, like I do with the Amazing Cosmetics. The shade 001 is a perfect match for me, and I found out my foundation shade for the Dior Nude is 010. Ann insisted on matching me and doing up my face so that I can compare the texture of the foundation with the Capture Totale.

The DIORSKIN Nude Skin Perfecting Hydrating Concealer (wahrau I hate typing long names!) retails for S$43 and it is now my favorite concealer. It lasted on me for more than eight hours of wear, granted that I have on base and primer. Without which, the wear-time is considerably shorter. I was so happy to come back at 11pm and see my skin glowy and the discolorations concealed.

Not that the concealer will give you glow, but you know. Highlighters are my obsession.

The Dior concealer comes in a needle squeeze point. Another reason why it knocked the Amazing Cosmetics concealer off my list, as it allows me to control the amount of product so much better and not risk the tube exploding.

Here is a swatch of it 😀 If you want to try out the Dior Addict lipsticks in peace and not have the SA giving you attitude, I highly recommend Ann at Tampines Isetan! She’s very friendly and loves chatting with her customers (to help improve her English as she’s Thai). Most importantly, she’s very patient and helpful in getting your foundation matched!

And oh, the Dior sunscreen might just be my next purchase, I love the scent and how fast it is absorbed into the skin without being too heavy. Elaine bb, there’s your sample on top XD Anyone who wants the Capture Totale foundation sample, please holler! I have no use for it anyways :S

Have a great Saturday folks!

