Okay, so I nearly spelled it as “Marmalade Panty” which would totally give me vastly different search results, but I digress.

So it started out as this. I had heard great reviews about Wild Honey for its awesome all-day breakfast menu (which I have yet to try sadly) and The Marmalade Pantry, for hmm a great tea place. Having tried out Wild Honey earlier, I was eager to dine at The Marmalade Pantry when A suggested it as the other alternative to Japanese food. I had already satisfied my initial mad cravings for it with Momosarus and Papasarus, and wasn’t inclined on spending a bomb for over-priced-for-quality Japanese at Ion.

It wasn’t difficult locating the place, as A and her boyfriend had previously dined there. Upon seating, she ordered a pot of the EARL GREY HIMALAYA (S$6.50) and I decided to hold off ordering any drink of my own as she said it was nice. A fellow Tweeter who held great fondness for TWG tea had also mentioned The Marmalade Pantry, thus I figured the Earl Grey was gonna be something.

A had offered a sip of it, and boy, was I really impressed. The flavor was distinct and was accompanied by the strong scent of bergamot orange. Taken enough I was by it that I ordered a pot of my own, and drank in the citrus scent of it. And The Marmalade Pantry takes their tea seriously, for I was presented with these;

I’ve always had this mental image of tea-time in my mind. A cozy warm cottage set, quaint weathered china, and a smiling hostess offering hot tea and brown wick chairs beside a window that looks out to a field of flowers or lavender. And bunnies.  I must have read too many fairy tales when I was impressionably young.

Your very own milk saucer and sugar glass, complete with a pair of sugar tongs. I was really impressed at the lengths The Marmalade Pantry went to give their customers a great tea experience, and now, I want my very own ceramic tea set too! Okay, probably only when I can afford my own house, haha.

To tell the truth, I had fun with the sugar tongs, choosing a particular cube of brown sugar (A said it tastes better than white sugar) and then dropping it down into my cup with a “plonk”, watching it fizzle and stirring it into my tea. Kinda reminds me of life, we choose the people we want or need, thereafter blending them into our lives, and the results of our choice would then be either sweet or bitter. If it’s gotten too bitter, just pile on the sugar. If it’s gotten too sweet, then pour for a fresh cup of tea.

But again, I digress.

Just so you can see how delicate the sugar tongs were, the fascinating cubes of sugar, and the crystal holder.

For some weird reason. I really like this milk saucer. Probably has to do with some child-hood memory of my cooking toys. My tea tasted great with milk added to it too.

Now it’s time when I start introducing the mains we had. First up, my TRUFFLED FIELD MUSHROOM RISOTTO (S$22.00). I asked for extra cheese, and to my horror, they added parsley to it. I should have known. *smacks forehead*

Probably Coriander as well? Anyways, this was my first time having risotto. My server told me that it was some kind of Italian porridge. Though Wikipedia tells me it is a “traditional Italian rice dish cooked with stock and flavored with Parmesan cheese” which gives it a creamy texture.

Anyone who has been out for food with me would know my love for mushrooms, or you who has read the blog. My risotto had 3 kinds of mushrooms in it, and they would have tasted better (less bitter) if the chef had fried them in better first. I don’t know if leaving the stems in was a good idea though.

I have to say, my first time having a risotto wasn’t fantastic. The rice was coarse and hard to swallow, unlike the Chinese rice porridge you order from Crystal Jade. It resorted in me having to chew (rather repetitively) in order to swallow a mouthful, and obviously I didn’t finish my portion. I don’t know if risotto should have tasted like that, but I would say I didn’t enjoy it at all.

A had her usual CRABMEAT LINGUINI (S$22.00) with pine nuts, tomatoes and parsley. Though her order was rather complex as she wanted it without pine nuts and parsley and something else. I dislike tomato-base pastas, but the taste was good.

Apparently The Marmalade Pantry is famous for their cupcakes as well. Alas, we got there late and they were sold out of everything except for their CLOUD NINE (S$4.20) which is white coconut cake with cream cheese. Quite interesting, though the server said kids were the ones who favored it most. The most popular of the lot was the RED VELVET (S$4.20) which is red velvet cake with coconut cream cheese frosting. The description sounds intriguing enough already to warrant a second visit.

I would recommend The Marmalade Pantry to anyone who’s interested in having a great pot of tea and a cupcake to go along with it. Having had a not-so-satisfying experience with their main courses, I would naturally vote for a cheaper alternative. I’m so inclined to lug my library book with me for a weekday afternoon of leisure. S$6.50 + S$4.20 = S$ 10.70, and the tea’s refillable too.

On second thought, their Afternoon Tea and Weekend Brunch menu offers some mouth-watering options too. However, I think I might eat my way through over at Wild Honey’s before coming back to The Marmalade Pantry. And oh, ladies get a 20% discount off their FOOD bill and you enjoy discounted drinks. I’m gonna order myself a mean Lychee Bellini the next time round.

